You can add users to your Cadenza admin and assign them different Roles, depending on the level of access you wish to grant. Only Administrators can create new users and assign roles and only an Administrator can edit another user’s role. A Role defines a set of tasks a user assigned the role is allowed to perform.

There are five primary WordPress user roles:

Administrator – somebody who has access to all the administration features within your Cadenza website.

Editor – somebody who can publish and manage posts including the posts of other users.

Author – somebody who can publish and manage their own posts.

Contributor  – somebody who can write and manage their own posts but cannot publish them.

Subscriber – somebody who can only manage their profile.

As you can see, many of these Roles revolve around generating Post content (including News). Assigning users to these roles might be of value, especially if you wanted to assign a volunteer to write and/or publish News articles, but not allow them to be able to make other content changes or settings changes to your website.

Additionally, Cadenza supports some other User Roles:

Staff –  somebody who can write and manage their own posts but cannot publish them. Staff can also create and manage Ensemble pages, but not publish them.

Sign-Up Sheets Manager – somebody who can publish and manage their own posts (similar to an Author). Sign-up Sheets Managers also have full access ofver creating and administering Sign-Up Sheets.

Assigning Roles

An Administrator may assign or edit another user’s role (but not their own), including another Administrator!

To assign or edit another user’s role, do the following:

  1. From your Dashboard, navigate to Users > All Users
  2. Click the Name of the User or click the Edit link under the User’s name that you wish to edit
  3. Locate the Role dropdown menu, located just above the First Name field
  4. Select the new Role that you wish to assign to this User
  5. Scroll down the page and click the Update User button

If the user is already logged in, they will need to log out, then log in again in order for their new User Role to be in effect.