Content that you create for your Cadenza website, doesn’t always have to be public. You can also create private pages or password protected pages. These pages are not indexed by search engines and no one can access them without the proper credentials.
Visibility settings for content are made in the Publish box on your editing screen. Every type of content has these Visibility settings, including Posts, Pages, News, Events, Ensembles and Staff Members
When you publish content, by default, it becomes public, meaning that the Page or Post or other content type is available on your website and can be searched for by site visitors and indexed by search engines.
You can password protect any Post or Page with a single global password. No one without the password will be able to open or read it. These pages and posts will still appear on your site if you link to them, or are listed in post categories such as News, but they are identified as “Protected” and a password field will display on the page in place of the content until the correct password is entered.
Even as the author of the content, you will be required to enter the correct password on your website.
Password Protecting content is a good way to share information to only a select group of visitors, such as your instructional or educational staff, or your to membership, to share documents or other information that is not for public consumption.
As a content author, you can create Private content that is only accessible by you, if you are logged into the Admin. No one, other than yourself, will be able to access this content.
Private content is published only for your eyes, or the eyes of only those with authorization permission levels to see private content. Normal users and visitors will not be aware of private content. It will not appear in the article lists. If a visitor were to guess the URL for your private post, they would still not be able to see your content. You will only see the private content when you are logged into your Cadenza website.
Once you change the visibility to private, the post or page status changes to “Privately Published” as shown. Private posts are automatically published but not visible to anyone but those with the appropriate permission levels (Editor or Administrator).
WARNING: If your site has multiple editors or administrators, they will be able to see your protected and private posts in the Edit screen. They do not need the password to be able to see your protected posts. They can see the private posts in the Edit Posts/Pages list, and are able to modify them, or even make them public. Consider these consequences before making such posts in such a multiple-user environment.