Widgets can be added to your sidebars, footer widgets areas and content modules. Widgets add content and functionality to these areas and many have different configuration options so you can customize exactly how you need the Widget to look and behave.
Some Widgets are very simple, and perform just a single function. The Search Widget is a good example. By adding a Search to a widget area, you simply add a form field to the area that allows visitors to enter a word or phrase to search your Cadenza website. There aren’t any options to configure except where you want your Widget to display.
Other Widgets have more options and choices and you should explore these options when adding Widgets to your website.
Configuring Widgets in the Widget Screen
To set or edit Widget configurations in the customizer, do one of the following:
- From your Dashboard, navigate to Appearance > Widgets*
- Expand any Widget Area where you have previously placed a Widget
- Expand the Widget Options by clicking the little down arrow located to the left of Widget name.
- Explore the configuartion options for each Widget you wish to use. Each Widget is unique and these options vary by Widget so each one is not explored in detail here. Most settings are easy to understand.
*You can also access the Widget ares by navigating to Appearance > Customize> Widgets, but functionality is very limited here and is not recommended.
Saving Widget Configurations
When you add a Widget, or reposition a Widget, its new placement is automatically saved on your website (and is live). When you change configuration settings however, you much click the Save button located within the Widget in order to make your changes live.
There may be certain circumstances when you wish to remove a Widget from your site, either permanently, or temporarily. If you want to remove it permanently, simply click the Delete link within the Widget itself.
However, you may want to just remove the Widget temporarily, even if you don’t think you might want to reuse it later, especially if you have carefully made configuration adjustments that you don’t want to lose.
If you want to remove a configured Widget temporarily, drag it from a Widget Area, into the Inactive Widget Area located below the Available Widget List. Dragging a Widget here will remove it from your Widget Areas, but retain their settings.
Configuring Widget Modules in the Page Builder
Since you can add Widgets through the Page Builder with Widget Modules, to any page or post within your website, all configurations and settings are made directly on your page, in the Page Builder itself.
To set or edit Widget configuration within the Page Builder, do the following:
- Navigate to the page where you have added Widgets, and edit the page through launch the Page Builder links
- Hover over and click on the Widget Module, or on the Widget Settings Icon (Wrench) where you have previously embedded a Widget
- In the Page Builder, explore the configuration options for the Widget you have used. Each Widget is unique and these options vary by Widget so each one is not explored in detail here. Most settings are easy to understand.
Saving Widget Configurations
When using the Page Builder, your Widget Configurations are saved automatically, and when you click the Save button at the bottom of the Widget settings. Your page is published to your site once you click Done and Publish in the page Builder.
To delete a Widget Module in the page builder, simply click the Delete icon (X) and confirm the deletion in the dialog box that follows.
Saving Widget Modules
There is no Inactive Widgets Area option within the Page Builder. If you delete a Widget Module, then it is removed for good once you publish your page. However, you can always choose to Save As within the Page Builder when editing the Widget, to save a copy of your Widget and its Configurations for later use.
To save a Widget Module for later use, do the following:
- Click the Save As button at the bottom of the Widget Module in the Page Builder.
- In the Save Module window, give your Widget Module a unique Name.
- Choose if you want your saved Widget Module to be Global or not. Making it Global means that you can reuse your Widget Module over and over again, while controling its settings in one place.
- When you are finished, click the Save button at the bottom of the Save Module window.
- Your Saved Module can now be found under the Saved menu in the Page Builder