To create a Page, do one of the following:
- From your Dashboard, Navigate to Pages. You can hover over the link, then click Add New
- Navigate to Pages > All Pages, and click the Add New button at the top of the screen
- From within the editing screen of any existing page, click the Add New button at the top of the screen
Enter a Title for your Page in the field that says “Enter title here”
Enter the content of your Page in the large editor area. You can use the Visual Editor or the Text Editor, or use the Page Builder to add more creative, interactive content blocks.
You can Preview your Page by clicking the Preview button in the Publish box. This will open up a new window that will show you what your page will look like when it is live on your website.
When you are satisfied with the way your page looks, click the Publish button to make the page live.
When you publish a new Page, you will need to provide a link to your visitors so that they can find and view it. Pages are not added to your navigation menu automatically. It can be found through the search field, but you will otherwise have to provide the link through sharing it with visitors, creating a link on another page or post, or by adding it to your menu.
Additional Publish Settings
You don’t have to publish every Page live when you are creating it. If needed, pages can be saved temporarily and finished at a later time. You can:
- Save a page as a Draft. This saves all of your work, but doesn’t publish the page until you are ready for it to go live.
- Save a draft as Pending Review, if you need someone else to “okay” the content before publishing it live.
You can also create pages that are never live on the website, but can only be viewed by certain people. There are three Visibility settings:
- Public, means that your Page is live on your website for all to read (if linked to or searched for). This is the default setting for all pages.
- Password Protected, gives you the ability to require a password (that you create) in order to access the page.
- Private pages are only accessible by the author.
Pages can also be scheduled to go live at a later date. By default, pages go live when you click the Publish button, but you can select another date by clicking the Edit link next to Publish immediately. Select the date a time that you want the page to go live, and WordPress will publish your page at the appointed date and time.
All Pages List
WordPress saves each Page that you create for as long as you wish to save it. Whether a Page is very old, or just no longer needed, you can move a page to Trash to remove it from your All Pages list.
Simply moving a Page to Trash doesn’t automatically delete the page from WordPress, however. To permantely delete a page, you will need to navigate to the page(s) in the Trash, select the page(s) and click the Delete Permanately link. Clicking this link removes the page from your site forever!
You can also restore a previously Trashed page by clicking the Restore link. Restoring a page moves it back to your All Pages list and re-publishes the page to your website. You can not restore a page that has been Permanently Deleted!